[]
[]

The Cold Dish

Johnson, Craig (Book - 2005 )
Average Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5.
The Cold Dish
Print

Item Details

There’s a powerful, new voice coming from out of the American West and his name is Craig Johnson. In his debut novel Johnson brings to life the vast Wyoming landscape, its people, and a wonderful new character in Sheriff Walt Longmire.The citizens of the Cowboy State boast a long and bloody history of dispensing rough justice but the last few decades have bred peace between the white and Native American communities. So when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation, Sheriff Walt Longmire and the general population of Absaroka County are inclined to think it’s a hunting accident. But two years earlier Cody was one four high school boys convicted of brutally raping Melissa Little Bird, a young Cheyenne girl with fetal alcohol syndrome. The boys were guilty but let off with suspended sentences. Was this a revenge killing? Sheriff Longmire intends to find out.After twenty-four years as sheriff, Walt, along with Deputy Victoria Moretti and lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, is embroiled in the most volatile and challenging case of his career. He might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 buffalo rifle.In the first book of this new series, Wyoming resident Craig Johnson fills the vast emptiness of the high plains with a cast both tragic and humorous and brings a unique landscape and its people to life with mesmerizing authenticity.
Authors: Johnson, Craig, 1961-
Title: The cold dish
Publisher: New York : Viking, 2005.
Characteristics: 354 p. ;,24 cm.
ISBN: 0670033693
Statement of Responsibility: Craig Johnson
Subject Headings: Longmire, Walt (Fictitious character) Fiction. Absaroka Range (Mont. and Wyo.) Fiction. Sheriffs Wyoming Fiction. Wyoming Fiction.
Genre/Form: Mystery fiction.
Topical Term: Longmire, Walt (Fictitious character)
Sheriffs
LCCN: 2004057175
MARC Display»

Library Staff

Comment by: DesPlainesReaders Oct 31, 2011

A quality police procedural filled with pathos, memorable characters, and wit, it's more than enough to pack a solid punch through whatever bland fiction funk you've been trying to escape from. This perfect blend of the mystery and western genres combines a well-developed plot and fast action wit... Read More »


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

I love all the Longmire books and was a fan of them before the TV show. I especially love the audio versions. I wrote a fan email to Craig Johnson and he graciously replied. I highly reccommend the entire series.

Jun 12, 2013
  • Cdnbookworm rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

I heard an interview with this author on CBC a few weeks ago and became intrigued. I decided to start with the first book in the series, which is this one. The setting is Wyoming, and Walt Longmire is the local sheriff. Walt is a Vietnam vet, in his fifties, a widower with a daughter who has moved away. He is a bit stuck in his grief since his wife died two years ago. His friends are trying to get him to move on, to finish the house his wife and him were building, and to maybe start a new relationship.
When he is notified of a man killed out in a field he sends his deputy, but the case looks like it might be linked to a case a while back where four young white men convinced a mentally handicapped young native woman to come with them and then sexually abused her. The dead man is one of the four men.
As the case progresses, Walt must depend on his friend Henry, and Henry must depend on Walt. The two of them fight to find the truth, against nature, against deceit, and with the help of the ancients. There is an emphasis on the type of gun used to commit the crime, and one gun like this comes into Walt's possession, the Cheyenne Death Rifle, with it's own story and interesting history. There are lots of interesting characters here, including Walt's deputy a young woman previously working for the Philadelphia police. Definitely a series I'd like to read more of.

I enjoyed all of Craig Johnson books and hopes he continues to add to Walt Longmire series.

Aug 10, 2012
  • Jbooks rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Well, Johnson's Cold Dish makes me want to read the whole series of Longmire...what more could an author want?

Jun 19, 2012
  • librarygirl92 rated this: 4.5 stars out of 5.

For fans of James Lee Burke, Steve Hamilton and Robert B Parker. Great characters, intriguing setting and a top notch mystery.

I was looking up some information on the author and I noticed that A&E has turned the series into a television show. Longmire started running in June 2012 on Sunday evenings.

Oct 31, 2011
  • DesPlainesReaders rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

A quality police procedural filled with pathos, memorable characters, and wit, it's more than enough to pack a solid punch through whatever bland fiction funk you've been trying to escape from. This perfect blend of the mystery and western genres combines a well-developed plot and fast action with pinpoint description of the devastatingly beautiful mountain scenery of northern Wyoming. - WeareSpartacus/notTom

Jul 02, 2011
  • olson_ethan rated this: 5 stars out of 5.

Craig Johnson brings a lot of his personal experience as a law enforcement officer and a writer to bear in his excellent debut.

Picked it up expecting Western trash, and was pleasantly surprised to find witty dialogue, engaging characters, and a fun mystery narrative.

A good start to a great series, not to be missed by fans of mysteries, westerns, both, or niether. The book will constantly surprise you and challenge your expectations going in to a Western.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add a Notice

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Videos

Add a Video

Nov 11, 2013
  • Delta rated this: 3.5 stars out of 5.

Longmire: Trailer - A Cold Dish

Take a peek inside Absaroka County, the world of Walt Longmire. All-new drama series "Longmire" is a contemporary crime thriller based on the mystery novels of the same name by best-selling author Craig Johnson.

Find it at DPPL

  Loading...

Powered by BiblioCommons.
Version pocillo (pocillo) Last updated 2014/08/29 09:56